Sunday, February 25, 2024

Legislative Committees Assemble

Legislative Committees Assemble

The Washington State Legislature recently gathered in Olympia for Committee Assembly days.  In preparation for the 2024 Legislative Session, Senate committees met on November 30 and December 1 and House committees met on December 4 and 5 to receive informational briefings.  While the composition of many committees remains the same as last year, the Legislature has two new committee chairs due to the resignation of a Senator Christine Rolfes (D, Bainbridge Island) earlier this year.

Rolfes’ powerful position as Chair of the Senate Ways & Means Committee was filled by Senator June Robinson (D, Everett).  Rolfes’ Senate seat was filled by Representative Drew Hansen (D, Bainbridge Island), who gave up chairing the House Civil Rights & Judiciary Committee to move to the Senate.  Representative Jamila Taylor (D, Federal Way) replaced Hansen as Chair of the House Civil Rights and Judiciary Committee.  Hansen’s House seat was filled by Greg Nance (D Bainbridge Island), who now serves on the Education Committee, the Postsecondary Education & Workforce Committee, and the Transportation Committee.

Use the following links to access Legislative Committee Rosters:

House Committees:

Senate Committees:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *