Monday, October 3, 2022
Breaking News

RPEC Weekly ACTION Newsletter – 1-21-2022

RPEC Weekly ACTION Newsletter – 1-21-2022

In This Edition

  • HB 1721 & SB 5676 – Proceed to Floor Votes
  • SB 5698 – Action Needed
  • Legislative Bill Summary
  • Weekly Legislative Update Meetings

HB 1721 & SB 5676 – Proceed to Floor Votes

Great news from the Capitol! Thank you to everyone who testified before the committees, who called, wrote letters and emailed their legislators, and who signed in support these bills during committee meetings. Your voices were clear and the need for relief was heard, loud and strong!

HB 1721 & SB 5676, a one-time 3% Plan 1 COLA, have been unanimously passed out of Appropriations and the Ways & Means committees and have been referred to their respective chambers for floor votes. We do not have information yet on when the vote will be held, however, it is important to begin contacting your legislators now, encouraging them to support and vote in favor of these bills. HB 1721 and SB 5676 are identical pieces of legislation providing a 3% one-time cost of living adjustment for Plan 1 retirees capped at $110 per month.

Action Item:

Please call, write, or email your legislators.  

Tell your Legislator – “We encourage the legislature to restore a permanent Plan 1 COLA for our oldest public servants. Please support HB-1721 and SB-5676, a one-time Plan 1 COLA which will provide short-term relief for retirees.”

House roster: https://leg.wa.gov/house/representatives/Pages/default.aspx

Senate roster: https://leg.wa.gov/Senate/Senators/Pages/default.aspx 

If you are unsure of your Legislative District, go to this link and enter your address: https://app.leg.wa.gov/DistrictFinder/

SB 5698 – Action Needed

SB 5698, a permanent Plan 1 COLA and sponsored by Sen. Sam Hunt, was referred to the Senate Ways & Means Committee and has yet to be scheduled for a hearing. It’s co-sponsors include Keiser, Cleveland, Dhingra, Gildon, Lovick, Nobles, Randall, Saldaña, Stanford, Van De Wege, and Wilson, C.

Action Item:

While we support legislation to provide short-term help, we still need to impress upon legislators the need for permanent relief for Plan 1 retirees. Please call, write, or email your senator serving on the Ways & Means Committee (see list below) and encourage them to schedule a hearing for SB 5698. 

Tell your Legislator – “We encourage the legislature to restore a permanent Plan 1 COLA for our oldest public servants. Please schedule a public hearing for SB 5698.”

If you are unsure of your Legislative District, go to this link and enter your address: https://app.leg.wa.gov/DistrictFinder/

Senate Ways & Means Committee 

Member Dist Email Phone
Rolfes, Christine (D) 23 christine.rolfes@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7644
Frockt, David (D) 46 david.frockt@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7690
Robinson, June (D) 38 june.robinson@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7674
Wilson, Lynda (R) 17 lynda.wilson@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7632
Brown, Sharon (R) 8 sharon.brown@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7614
Schoesler, Mark (R) 9 mark.schoesler@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7620
Honeyford, Jim (R) 15 jim.honeyford@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7684
Billig, Andy (D) 3 andy.billig@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7604
Braun, John (R) 20 john.braun@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7638
Carlyle, Reuven (D) 36 reuven.carlyle@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7670
Conway, Steve (D) 29 steve.conway@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7656
Dhingra, Manka (D) 45 manka.dhingra@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7672
Gildon, Chris (R) 25 chris.gildon@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7648
Hasegawa, Bob (D) 11 bob.hasegawa@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7616
Hunt, Sam (D) 22 sam.hunt@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7642
Keiser, Karen (D) 33 karen.keiser@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7664
Mullet, Mark (D) 5 mark.mullet@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7608
Muzzall, Ron (R) 10 ron.muzzall@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7618
Pedersen, Jamie (D) 43 jamie.pedersen@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7628
Rivers, Ann (R) 18 ann.rivers@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7634
Van De Wege, Kevin (D) 24 kevin.vandewege@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7646
Wagoner, Keith (R) 39 keith.wagoner@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7676
Warnick, Judy (R) 13 judith.warnick@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7624
Wellman, Lisa (D) 41 lisa.wellman@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7641

Legislative Bill Summary

Below is a link to the bills we are tracking as they move through the legislative process. Full Text and updates on these bills can be found by searching for the bill number at: https://app.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/

Please visit https://rpecwa.org/2022-legislative-bill-summary/ for a list of bills currently of focus to RPEC.

Weekly Legislative Update Meetings

RPEC is holding legislative updates on Friday’s at 2:00 pm during the legislative session. You can participate by computer or phone. Please find the meeting login information below. Please join us to learn about the week’s legislative news and happenings, and what you can do to get involved:

Join by Computer:
Go to: https://zoom.us/join
Meeting ID: 890 4536 5250
Passcode: 320296

Join by Phone:
Dial: (253) 215-8782
Meeting ID: 890 4536 5250
Passcode: 320296 

Wish to receive text alerts on important issues?
Text RPEC to 237263 to sign-up 

Your Voice for Retirement Security!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.