Tuesday, May 24, 2022
Breaking News

RPEC Weekly ACTION Newsletter – 1-19-2022

RPEC Weekly ACTION Newsletter – 1-19-2022

IN THIS EDITION

  • HB 1721 – Plan 1 COLA Bill in House Appropriations
  • SB 5676 – Plan 1 COLA Bill in Senate Ways & Means
  • Legislative Bill Summary

HB 1721 and SB 5676 are identical pieces of legislation providing a 3% one-time cost of living adjustment for Plan 1 retirees capped at $110 per month. Both bills have been scheduled for committee executive session on Thursday, January 20th. It is executive session where the committee decides whether or not to forward the bill to the floor for a vote by the whole chamber. Please follow the two Action Items in this email to make sure that both bills make it out of committee.


HB 1721 – PLAN 1 COLA BILL IN HOUSE APPROPRIATIONS

HB 1721, a one-time 3% Plan 1 COLA, has been referred to the House Appropriations Committee. The Appropriations Committee will hold executive session on Thursday, January 20th at 3:30 pm.

Action Item #1:

Please call, write, or email your representative serving on the Appropriations Committee (see list below). Tell your Legislator – “Please pass HB-1721 out of committee.”

If you are unsure of your Legislative District, go to this link and enter your address: https://app.leg.wa.gov/DistrictFinder/

House Appropriations Committee

Member Dist Email Phone
Ormsby, Timm (D) 3 timm.ormsby@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7946
Bergquist, Steve (D) 11 steve.bergquist@leg.wa.gov (253) 214-3275
Gregerson, Mia (D) 33 mia.gregerson@leg.wa.gov (253) 981-6278
Macri, Nicole (D) 43 nicole.macri@leg.wa.gov (206) 333-4228
Stokesbary, Drew (R) 31 drew.stokesbary@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7846
Chambers, Kelly (R) 25 kelly.chambers@leg.wa.gov (360) 746-3670
Corry, Chris (R) 14 chris.corry@leg.wa.gov (509) 907-6087
MacEwen, Drew (R) 35 drew.macewen@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7902
Boehnke, Matt (R) 8 matt.boehnke@leg.wa.gov (509) 315-2315
Caldier, Michelle (R) 26 michelle.caldier@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7802
Chandler, Bruce (R) 15 bruce.chandler@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7960
Chopp, Frank (D) 43 frank.chopp@leg.wa.gov (206) 905-6681
Cody, Eileen (D) 34 eileen.cody@leg.wa.gov (564) 888-2493
Dolan, Laurie (D) 22 laurie.dolan@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7940
Dye, Mary (R) 9 mary.dye@leg.wa.gov (564) 888-2380
Fitzgibbon, Joe (D) 34 joe.fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov (564) 888-2362
Frame, Noel (D) 36 noel.frame@leg.wa.gov (206) 962-5098
Hansen, Drew (D) 23 drew.hansen@leg.wa.gov (206) 333-2975
Harris, Paul (R) 17 paul.harris@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7976
Hoff, Larry (R) 18 larry.hoff@leg.wa.gov (360) 419-5592
Jacobsen, Cyndy (R) 25 Cyndy.Jacobsen@leg.wa.gov (253) 449-8545
Johnson, Jesse (D) 30 jesse.johnson@leg.wa.gov (206) 333-2989
Lekanoff, Debra (D) 40 debra.lekanoff@leg.wa.gov (360) 419-5266
Pollet, Gerry (D) 46 gerry.pollet@leg.wa.gov (206) 307-0409
Rude, Skyler (R) 16 skyler.rude@leg.wa.gov (509) 593-4559
Ryu, Cindy (D) 32 cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov (206) 307-0769
Schmick, Joe (R) 9 joe.schmick@leg.wa.gov (253) 275-1425
Senn, Tana (D) 41 tana.senn@leg.wa.gov (425) 279-5345
Springer, Larry (D) 45 larry.springer@leg.wa.gov (425) 947-8921
Steele, Mike (R) 12 mike.steele@leg.wa.gov (509) 782-3436
Stonier, Monica Jurado (D) 49 monica.stonier@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7872
Sullivan, Pat (D) 47 pat.sullivan@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7858
Tharinger, Steve (D) 24 steve.tharinger@leg.wa.gov (564) 888-2366

 


SB 5676 – PLAN 1 COLA BILL IN SENATE WAYS & MEANS

SB 5676, a one-time 3% Plan 1 COLA, has been referred to the Senate Ways & Means Committee. The Ways & Means Committee will hold executive session on Thursday, January 20th at 4:00 pm.

Action Item #2:

Please call, write, or email your senator serving on the Ways & Means Committee (see list below). Tell your Legislator – “Please pass SB-5676 out of committee.”

If you are unsure of your Legislative District, go to this link and enter your address: https://app.leg.wa.gov/DistrictFinder/

Senate Ways & Means Committee

Member Dist Email Phone
Rolfes, Christine (D) 23 christine.rolfes@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7644
Frockt, David (D) 46 david.frockt@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7690
Robinson, June (D) 38 june.robinson@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7674
Wilson, Lynda (R) 17 lynda.wilson@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7632
Brown, Sharon (R) 8 sharon.brown@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7614
Schoesler, Mark (R) 9 mark.schoesler@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7620
Honeyford, Jim (R) 15 jim.honeyford@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7684
Billig, Andy (D) 3 andy.billig@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7604
Braun, John (R) 20 john.braun@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7638
Carlyle, Reuven (D) 36 reuven.carlyle@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7670
Conway, Steve (D) 29 steve.conway@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7656
Dhingra, Manka (D) 45 manka.dhingra@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7672
Gildon, Chris (R) 25 chris.gildon@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7648
Hasegawa, Bob (D) 11 bob.hasegawa@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7616
Hunt, Sam (D) 22 sam.hunt@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7642
Keiser, Karen (D) 33 karen.keiser@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7664
Mullet, Mark (D) 5 mark.mullet@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7608
Muzzall, Ron (R) 10 ron.muzzall@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7618
Pedersen, Jamie (D) 43 jamie.pedersen@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7628
Rivers, Ann (R) 18 ann.rivers@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7634
Van De Wege, Kevin (D) 24 kevin.vandewege@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7646
Wagoner, Keith (R) 39 keith.wagoner@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7676
Warnick, Judy (R) 13 judith.warnick@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7624
Wellman, Lisa (D) 41 lisa.wellman@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7641

 


LEGISLATIVE BILL SUMMARY

Below is a link to the bills we are tracking as they move through the legislative process. Full Text and updates on these bills can be found by searching for the bill number at: https://app.leg.wa.gov/billinfo

Please visit https://rpecwa.org/2022-legislative-bill-summary/ for a list of bills currently of focus to RPEC.

WISH TO RECEIVE TEXT ALERTS ON IMPORTANT ISSUES?
TEXT RPEC TO 237263 TO SIGN-UP

Your Voice for Retirement Security!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.